Login  /  Register  | 3 premium articles left before you must register.

Ledyard Democrats endorse candidates

By Anna Isaacs

Publication: theday.com

Published July 18. 2013 10:00PM   Updated July 18. 2013 11:52PM

Ledyard — The Democratic Town Committee endorsed nine candidates for November's municipal election Thursday.

Mary McGrattan, Bill Saums and Sharon Wadecki will all run again for their two-year term seats on the Town Council. McGrattan, a former Ledyard mayor, has served for three consecutive terms on the council as well as three other terms in the 1970s and 1980s. Saums has served for three consecutive terms, and Wadecki has served for nine.

Two newcomers will also run for Town Council: Lou Gabordi, who worked for Ledyard public schools for 37 years, including two years as principal of Ledyard Middle School and five years as principal of Ledyard High School until his retirement last July; and S. Naomi Rodriguez, who has served for six years on the Planning and Zoning Commission and is the DTC chairman.

On the Board of Education, current chairman Sharon Hightower, Rebecca Graebner, and Stephanie Calhoun, will all run again for their two-year term seats.

Hazel Gorman will run again for her two-year term as the registrar of voters.

News by Town

Most Recent Poll
What are you doing to beat the heat?
Heat, what heat?
I even go to unwatchable films at movie theaters.
Everyone in New England says you only need air conditioning two or three days a year. Obviously, they are wrong.
I'm working harder to pay for my July electric bill.
What a bunch of whining babies.
Number of votes: 1238

No current items found